How My Food Journal Sets Me Free

Posted on January 27, 2013

0



One of the major steps I’ve taken in my journey so far is that being healthy is not aboutDSC_0243 deprivation. Depriving ourselves is never a good thing, not emotionally, not physically, and not spiritually. While I am giving myself the ability to be free of the burden that is “dieting”, I also must constantly remain conscious of where I am in my food therapy.

Most of the commercial diet plans suggest you keep a food journal in order to track calories or points. These are steps to deprivation. Counting and not meeting your points or going over causes guilt or anxiety. The last thing I need is more anxiety.

My lovely food journal, made by my talented sister-in-law, is not about anxiety, or guilt, or deprivation. It’s all about keeping me involved in my eating, and conscious of my new relationship with food. Writing everything I eat down keeps me aware of what I am putting into my body. I don’t tell myself I can’t have something because it won’t look good written down. But I do think about how I have to write down what I’m eating, and it makes me think about eating rather than tuning out to the TV or in a good book.

DSC_0248I also keep track of how much water I drink a day. I am notoriously bad at hydrating myself. All I do is keep tallys of how many 8oz servings of water I have. After I write down my meals I am able to check in and see how much more I should be shooting for, and know that I need to continue to hydrate.

My food journal is so fun! I can go back and say “Oh! I really liked having that” or “Hm, I didn’t feel so good after I ate that, so I won’t have that again.” It’s been so freeing, I love writing down what I ate!

Do you have a food journal? Does it give you any positive/negative feelings?

Posted in: Tricks, Wellness