Why I Got Rid of Weigh Ins & Hillbilly’s BBQ

Posted on September 1, 2012

1


As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been reading “Intuitive Eating” and it’s changing my life. Having been a chronic dieter and prone to bouts of guilt associated with eating it’s time to make a change. One of the biggest changes I am making is no more weighing in. Weighing in does nothing to help me body the healthiest I can be. It only causes fear, anguish and guilt if I have a “bad” weigh in. So, my page associated with weigh ins is gone and I am no longer putting myself through that! Only healthy relationships with my body and food.

 

Stuart and I travelled about an hour away today to see the grave of one of Stuart’s Great Grandfathers (I can’t remember how many greats it was). He served in the Civil War and it was really cool to see his grave stone, which had his information of service on it. We got a lot of information to continue going back into his family tree. After we were done, we were hungry for some good old North Carolina BBQ and headed to Hillbillys.

 

It was really neat inside, with old furniture. It smelled amazing! Smokey and BBQ-y. I love old beams on the ceiling. We were served hushpuppies first, with a side of their BBQ sauce. All I can say is amazing. So amazing that I didn’t even have time to take a picture.

 

I ordered the SMALL pork plate. I can’t even imagine what the large plate would have been. It came with two sides. The coleslaw was amazing and the BBQ sauce is to die for. I’m trying to find out if they sell bottles of this or if I can get a recipe. So, so good. The coleslaw was really good to. I brought about half of this home and look forward to eating it tonight for dinner.

 

My second side was fried okra. I ordered it purely because I have never tried it before. It tasted pretty good, but I just couldn’t get over the texture. I feel bad that I didn’t eat it, but I have major texture issues.

 

What’s your favorite place for BBQ or your favorite BBQ sauce?

Posted in: Restaurant, Tricks