Cheesy Black Bean Egg Muffin

Posted on August 22, 2012

0


Stuart and I made fajitas the other night, and I had left over black beans. I decided to have a protein packed breakfast since I started my new job today and wanted to have a lot of energy and not be craving food while I was working. So I decided to make an egg sandwich with cheese and black beans. Not so fancy, I know, but I tried out a new technique that made my eggs a perfect fit for an english muffin!

I don’t remember where I saw it, pinterest maybe, but you just use a mason jar lid to make circular eggs to fit on circular breads! It leaked a little as you can see, but I just held it down until the underside of the egg got pretty solid. Getting it out was a bit tricky, I’d probably spray it with some cooking oil next time. It fit perfectly!

Ingredients
1 egg
1/4 cup black beans
1/4 cup shredded cheese
1 english muffin
1 mason jar lid

Crack egg into bowl and beat yolk until very runny. Add in beans and cheese and mix. Pour mix into mason jar lid and hold down until slightly solid. Flip when needed. Remove and put on english muffin. Eat!

Posted in: Breakfast, Eggs