Interval Training & Post Workout Smoothie

Posted on July 27, 2012

0


I am becoming more aware of how my lifestyle prior to this point bordered on sedentary. I like to sit and lounge, I won’t lie about it. I am really trying to move more often and keep it dynamic. One of the problems that I am running into is that I am setting the bar too high. We are constantly bombarded with fitness tips and techniques, and especially fitness routines. I am not at a level where I can complete most of these routines, and that’s frustrating. So that brought me into modifying my workouts and I want to share them with everyone, because I know there are others out there who feel like me.

Interval training is probably the easiest way I can do this right now. The intervals allow me to maintain a high intensity when I’m doing the actual work, but it also allows me to get the rest I need in between. According to Shape, there are 8 benefits to interval training:

1. Efficient – you are able to get a high intensity workout in a shorter amount of time.
2. Burn More Fat – the high intensity of interval training allows for your body to burn more fat for up to a day after than a steady pace exercise would.
3. Healthier Heart – You’re able to get your heart rate higher than a longer steadier paced exercise, which makes your heart healthy.
4. No Equipment – This is the most beneficial thing for me. I am not able to afford a gym membership, or an extensive amount of my own equipment.
5. Burn fat, not muscle – You’re more likely to sustain your muscles and only burn fat when dieting and doing interval training than losing everything.
6. Increase Metabolism – Stimulates production of human growth hormone (HGH) which controls metabolism which helps burn fat.
7. Do It Anywhere – Interval training can be done in the gym, in your home, and in your neighborhood
8. Challenging – For me interval training gives an intrinsic award where I feel very accomplished after I complete it.

This interval training is my modified version of a program that is supposed to be done for one hour. I am only up to about 30 min of workout. I threw in some strength training so that I could get the aerobic rest I needed but it still be beneficial to me.

After my workouts I love to have a protein shake.  This week I bought a thing of cherries, so I’ve been using them a lot. Behold the Cherry Vanilla Protein Smoothie

serves 1 | 175 calories

Ingredients
1/2 cup nonfat greek yogurt
2 scoops vanilla protein powder
1/4 cup cherries (de-pitted)
1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

Combine all ingredients in the blender. Mix thoroughly. Serve chilled.

Posted in: Cardio, Fitness, Smoothies