Crunchy Quinoa Salad

Posted on July 26, 2012

2


I’m having a love affair with quinoa. I’ve heard about it everywhere. I tried some quinoa in place of oatmeal recently and I really loved it. I love the texture and the crunchy-ness of it. I am also absolutely loving creating new recipes and trying it out. It’s especially fun to share them with my boyfriend, and I LOVE when he likes it too (although he’s not that picky). I’ve always had this idea in my head that I wasn’t a good cook, but I seem to be proving myself wrong.

One of the things my boyfriend really loves is the ranch dressing I make. I found it on Pinterest, and it came from Caffeinated Chronicles of a Supermom.  Last night when I was preparing dinner I tried to think of a new way to use this ranch dressing. Out came Crunchy Quinoa Salad.

calories 255 for whole bottle

Ranch Dressing Ingredients:
1 packet of hidden valley ranch dressing mix (Make sure you do not get the dip mix, this won’t taste good)
1 cup plain nonfat greek yogurt
1/2 cup 1% milk

Whisk all ingredients together. Chill for 1 hr in the refrigerator before serving.

serves 4 | 95 calories per serving

Ingredients
1 cup quinoa
1 cup broccoli florets (chopped)
1 cup cucumber (chopped)
1/4 cup cheddar cheese
1/2 cup ranch dressing

Rinse quinoa. Bring quinoa and 1 1/2 cup water to boil. Lower heat and cover. Simmer for 10-15 min (until water is soaked up). Remove from heat and let sit for 5-7 min. Cool quinoa in the fridge. Mix vegetables, cheese, quinoa and ranch dressing in bowl. Serve chilled.

This was so good. I have some leftovers that I can’t wait to get to later today! I ate this with a turkey burger covered in white bean and basil hummus. Yum.

