Chocolate Banana Oatmeal

Posted on July 21, 2012

0


My weight loss journey has really started with breakfast. I NEVER ate breakfast, not as a kid and not as an adult. I’ll over share for a moment (I know, right?) I would get terrible stomach aches in the morning which stopped me from eating breakfast. Once I started clean eating I began to realize that my digestive issues was due to all the processed foods and added sugar I was eating. So now I’m really focusing on the breakfasts I eat and making sure I get protein and whole grains in. BUT who doesn’t love something sweet for breakfast. Especially something like a donut! I love donuts, so it shouldn’t be surprising that I once again added chocolate into one of my meals. I love experimenting with oatmeal. It’s so simple and healthy. We also had some bananas to get rid of so I added those in for some natural sugars to sweeten it up.

serves 1 | 250 calories

Ingredients:

1/2 cup plain oats
1 cup water
1 banana
1 tablespoon cocoa powder

Bring 1 cup water to a boil. Add oats and cook until soft and tender (approx. 5 to 6 min). Mash banana. Combine oatmeal, banana, and cocoa powder. Garnish with a few banana slices. Eat!

As always if the sweetness isn’t right I just add no calorie stevia to taste.

Posted in: Breakfast