Beginner Workout & After Workout Protein Shake

Posted on July 20, 2012

1


Having been a competitive swimmer for 14+ years, I know a thing or two about an intense workout. I also know that I’ve absolutely refused to participate in such activity for the last 7 years. 7!? Wow, I didn’t realize it was that long until just now. Getting back into cardio and strength training has been particularly difficult for me. I’ve never attempted it when I was this out of shape, and with this body. I’ve either been in the best shape of my life working out, or the worst shape not working out. I’ve struggled with knowing my personal ability, and what my limits are. I’ve been studying my fellow healthy living bloggers to try to figure out the perfect workout and I realized I couldn’t emulate someone else’s idea of fitness, at least not right now. It was up to me to figure out how to push myself without injuring myself.

Walking at a medium to high pace for approximately 30 min produces quite a sweat for me. (I’m just starting!). I keep my walk to the same route, and time myself so that I can see when I am able to complete the route in less than 30 min. Just changing my routine has done wonders for me, and the extra 30 min of moving in the morning helps me physically and mentally

After my cardio workout I’ll finish up with a strength circuit of some sort. One day I will do arms, the next legs, and I will do abs every day. For arms I do flies, bicep curls, triceps rows, and overhead press. I do 15 reps and 3 circuits. For legs things like lunges, squats, calf raises and leg lifts. Again, find a rep that’s comfortable and do 3 circuits.

Finally, I finish up my workout with a protein shake!

Mint Chocolate Protein Shake


serves 1 | 190 calories

Ingredients:

2 scoops vanilla protein powder
1 cup unsweetened almond milk
1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 cup nonfat greek yogurt
Peppermint extract (to taste)

Combine all ingredients in blender. Blend until throughly mixed. Serve chilled.

The type of protein powder I use is is Aria Women’s Protein. It’s all natural with no GMO soy or aspartame, no artificial flavors, etc. It’s $9.99 for a 12oz can at Trader Joes.

