No Bake Brownie Bites

Posted on July 19, 2012

5


A common theme for me is SWEET SWEET SWEET. I’ve been trying to watch my sugar intake, and much to my dismay I was shocked to see how much sugar I actually eat in one day. I’ve been scouring the internet looking for natural ways to sweeten things that I eat. One blog that I follow religiously and LOVE so much is Rabbit Food for My Bunny Teeth (RFFMBT) . She presented something that I never thought I’d get on board with: the magical world of dates. I’m hooked. They are so yummy, just the right amount of sweetness, and SO good for you! Yesterday, with my new love for dates and thinking my boyfriend deserved a yummy (and healthy) dessert I made RFFMBT’s Raw Brownie Bites with one small adaption.

(P.S. I finally learned how to adjust my camera’s settings and now I can take amazing pictures. I’m so excited)

serves 12 | 91 calories per bite

Ingredients:

1 cup pitted dates
1/2 cup unsalted sunflower seeds
1/2 cup walnuts
6 tablespoons cocoa powder (or 3 tablespoons cacao powder)
1/2 tsp pure vanilla
* Splash of vanilla almond milk
* 2 packets of stevia

Blend sunflower seeds and walnuts in the food processor* until finely ground. Add cocoa powder and vanilla, blend again. Add dates and process until dough like mixture is formed. Take 1 tablespoon to spoon out “dough” and roll. Refrigerate for 1 hour an up to 1 week.

* I do not own a food processor, so I did most of these steps in a chopper. I couldn’t quite get the consistency needed to roll the balls so I added a splash of vanilla almond milk to wet the mixture and was able to roll it. Also, I’ve very sensitive to bitter tastes (like the cocoa powder) so I added 2 packets of stevia for extra sweetness.

Enjoy!

Cook & Tell Recipe Link-Up from The Shrinking Kitchen

I’ve linked this recipe up to Shrinking Kitchen’s Cook and Tell! Hop on over and see some great recipes from all sorts of bloggers!

Posted in: Dessert