Creamy Cheddar Chicken

Posted on July 18, 2012

0


My grandmother lives in a senior citizen dorm (A.K.A. Assisted living). The center provides a sit down dinner for all residents every evening. My grandmother’s biggest complaint about this set up is that 5 out of the 7 nights they eat chicken! This made me laugh, but it’s not too far from it in our house. I barely eat meat as it is and red meat is a few and far between thing for me.

Last night I was trying to come up with a new, exciting, and diet friendly way to spice up the chicken breasts. I came across the Hellman’s Parmesan Crusted Chicken recipe, but since I don’t eat mayonnaise and I wanted a healthier option I adapted it a little bit. (I also apologize for this picture, I forgot to take one until we were already eating — my boyfriends plate was less messy so I took a picture of his with his iPhone)

serves 2 | 233 calories

Ingredients:

2 boneless chicken breasts
1/2 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
3 teaspoons bread crumbs

Mix yogurt and cheddar cheese in small bowl. Place chicken breasts in baking pan. Spread mixture onto each chicken breast. Sprinkle bread crumbs over top of each chicken breast. Cover tightly with foil. Bake at 425 degrees for 25 min.

Easy and so yummy. It was boyfriend approved. I served this with parmesan couscous and asparagus spears that I threw in a frying pan with olive oil and a garlic mixed spice.

Posted in: Chicken