Bleach Blonde Bimbos: Surfer Stereotypes

Posted on June 28, 2012

1



The most daunting prospect ahead of me is not so much picking up on the skills of surfing (I still remain delusional about my abilities), but the idea of submersing myself into a culture that is greatly foreign to me. Although their is a group of people who surf the Great Lakes (what?) from which I hail, Western New York is probably the farthest you can get from surf culture.

I came across this article on Surfer Magazine about surfing stereotypes. The descriptions are fairly humorous and got me thinking when I’m a surfer how will I be stereotyped. I most identify with, and can see myself slipping into the “Transcendental” category most easily:

Transcendental
Surfing is all about being one with the ocean, gliding like a dolphin, being in touch with the Earth and letting mother nature embrace you in her loving barrel-y arms, or so the transcendentals would proclaim. Usually amassed in this crowd are also the granola-munchers, hopped up on wheat grass and flax seeds, doing yoga while simultaneously saving the whales and most of the trees, all while singing a lovely acoustic song about it. They generally mind their own business, remaining slightly detached from the surf scene. You’ll usually spot them as they pull out of the parking lot in their Biodeisel vans, leaving you in their hazy wake of vegetable oil and marijuana smoke.

Of course it’s important to remember that every person is an individual and no one is the same, not even surfers!

Which surfing stereotype would you be?

Posted in: Culture